4 appointed to MPA board

By Jacquelyn Cheok

jaccheok@sph.com.sg @JacCheokBT

Singapore

FOUR new members have been appointed to the Maritime Port Authority of Singapore (MPA) board by Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew, the Ministry of Transport (MOT) said on Friday. They are:

- Carl Krogh Arnet, chief executive officer, BW Offshore;
- Luke Goh, senior director, PS21 Office, Public Service Division, Prime Minister's Office and institute director (Institute of Governance and Policy), Civil Service College;
- >>> Kam Soon Huat, general secretary and chief operating officer, Singapore Organisation of Seamen; and
- Quek Bin Hwee, vice-chairman (markets and industries), Asia Pacific Clients and Markets Leader, PricewaterhouseCoopers.

Their appointments will be for a period of three years and will effect from Feb 2, save for Mrs Quek, who according to MOT, will serve as board member from April 1, 2015 to Feb 1, 2018.

Jude Benny, senior partner at law firm Joseph Tan Jude Benny and a current board member of MPA, will have his appointment extended to March 31, 2015, so as to facilitate closure of the MPA 2014 annual accounts and a smooth handover of the chairmanship of the Audit Review Committee.

Meanwhile, the following board members will be stepping down on Feb 2, 2015:

- Thomas Tay, emeritus general secretary, Singapore Maritime Officers' Union;
- James Wong, deputy secretary (policy), Public Service Division, Prime Minister's Office; and Robert Yap, executive chairman, YCH Group.

The MPA board – chaired by Lucien Wong, chairman and senior partner at Allen & Gledhill – is responsible for providing strategic direction to help develop Singapore as a premier global hub port and an international maritime centre.