Back to top
- +



When we were first set up on 16 April 1968, we were initially known as the Ministry of Communications. Since then, we have had three name changes that correspond with an expansion in its roles and responsibilities.


The Ministry was set up on 16 April and was then known as the Ministry of Communications. 


On 2 January, it changed its name to the Ministry of Communications and Information (MCI) and was responsible for the policy direction concerned with the provision of land, sea and air transport, as well as postal, telecommunications and telephone services. It also took the Information Service - which started in 1980 - under its wings.


On 28 November, MCI was renamed as the Ministry of Communications (MINCOM) after the Information Service expanded its roles and responsibilities and was transferred to another ministry. Nevertheless, MINCOM's core responsibilities remain unchanged.


On 3 June, MINCOM expanded and was renamed the Ministry of Communications & Information Technology (MCIT), and took over the National Computer Board (NCB) from the Ministry of Trade and Industry.

In December, NCB and the Telecommunication Authority of Singapore were merged to form a single statutory board, the Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA). IDA remained under MCIT until November 2001.


On 23 November, MCIT was renamed the Ministry of Transport (MOT). Its portfolio of information technology, telecommunications and postal services was transferred to the Ministry of Information, Communications and The Arts (MICA).


On 1 July, the Meteorological Service Department was transferred from MOT to the National Environment Agency, a statutory board under the Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources.